Let’s talk about series

wolfpackLately i have been occupied with book series. Some i have read throughout the years but others are new finds. Lets start with an author whose work is in my automatic buy. Which means i like these author’ work so much that i will buy any books they write, just to see if i like it regardless of the genre. I must say i do not have many in my list since i believe that liking the author’s work and loving it are very different.

I hope by now many of you know about Christine Feehan and if you don’t then i suggest you check your local library or bookstore and start reading her books. She is one of those author’s whose work i have known for a while and deeply enjoy. She has so far about 4 series: Dark Carpathians, Drake Sisters, Ghost Walkers and recently a Leopard series.

“You are my lifemate. I claim you as my lifemate. I belong to you. I offer my life for you. I give you my protection. I give you my allegiance. I give you my heart. I give you my soul. I give you my body. I take into my keeping the same that is yours. You life will be cherished by me for all my time. Your life will be place above my own for all time. You are my lifemate. You are bound to me for all eternity. You are always in my care.”

Today it’s about her Carpathians and am very proud to say i have read and re-read all 19 books. I thoroughly enjoyed each and every one so far and fell in love with the characters for many different reasons. The Carpathians are relatively vampires, who are also hunters of  “rogue” vampires. From someone who has read many series on the vampire genre i can attest it’s like no other. For example,  they can shapeshift to different animals. I have had some problems with stories on vampires where the taking of blood resulted on the person’s death. Another thing that really bothers me these days is a vampire who has no soul, therefore no reflection on the mirror. As a friend mentioned once “there is something freaky about someone having a HEA when they have no soul”.

For someone who gags at the mention of cutsey and the overly romantic in a story, am quite the sucker for soulmates. Give the characters a reason to find the person that will complete them and i will at least want to read the blurb on the book. This story has Lifemates and each couple is different and similar in many ways, which will make you hate or love the characters for it. So far of the males my favorite is Gregory and MaryAnne as a lifemate. There is nothing better for me than an Alpha male who knows just the right amount of controlling and that is not afraid to show love and respect to their other half. MaryAnne….well she is a truly fashionista and as tomboyish as i am, i still love clothes and SHOES, even if am the only one who thinks they look good.

There are few authors these days who include discreet-intimacy, as i like to call it, that i still read. It’s not that i want heavy sexual scenes everywhere in a book, but am no longer a teenager i feel i can take the crass words and welcome the explicit intimacy. I enjoyed how Christine delivered these scenes, not being explicit but enough for everyone to know exactly where and how things were getting done. Something that other discreet-intimacy writers make you wonder how the characters went from kissing, to being sweaty and out of breath the next sentence. It’s almost like they want to gloss over the fact the people actually do have sex…..ROFL 

My favorite book from the series seems to be the latest one, Dark Curse. Probably because we finally get to see the Carpathians as a community, and see the light at the end of the tunnel for some of the problems they have experienced thus far. If like me, you have been checking her website to know what the next book will be about, then you must know why it’s a fantastic story. For the poor souls that do not, it’s about two before mention characters that have intrigued us so much we just cannot seem to wait to learn their story from their perspectives.  I have my fingers cross that the story after would be for either Zacarias or Dominic, they are just too close to turning “rogue” so i want to see them paired to a lifemate. These days in her yahoo group we seem to be trying to figure out which of the Carpathians still left will match with whom, i hope once you start reading her books you will join on the fun.

You may find more about Christine Feehan and her Dark Series in her website: http://www.christinefeehan.com/dark_series/index.php

Leave a Reply

